Gros Morne Summer Music announces 2016 summer/fall season

PoetMustLive-Liminus-July15-19

From the 2015 Gros Morne Summer Music performance of Poet Must Live.

Gros Morne Summer Music is back for summer and fall 2016 with a full season of performances lined up at St. Pat’s in Woody Point, ranging from traditional Newfoundland music, to classical, to theatre.

Tickets and season passes for Gros Morne Summer Music’s 2016 season can be bought online at their website, gmsm.ca.

Here’s the full list of shows for the 2016 Gros Morne Summer Music season in Woody Point:

The Door You Came In

Friday, July 8, 8:00pm

Based on the award-winning book ‘The Danger Tree’, this show combines story and music to carry you into WWI’s Battle of Beaumont Hamel.

Camilo the Magician

Saturday, July 9, 2:00pm

Camilo’s 3-day Magic camp culminates with his internationally acclaimed stage magic show – don’t miss the magic!

Hardtack (Stan Rogers and Ron Hynes tribute)

Saturday, July 9 & Saturday, August 13, 8:00pm

Two of Atlantic Canada’s songwriting icons. Stan Rogers and Ron Hynes, come alive in this rousing tribute show.

Beaumont Hamel Tribute Concert

Sunday, July 10, 8:00pm

The North Lakeshore Chorus joins us to present a night of songs and piping as a tribute to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment.

Daniel Payne & Friends

Saturday, July 16 & Saturday, July 30, 8:00pm

He plays fiddle, accordion, flute, and has a singing voice that makes the whole room cozy.

Jan Lisiecki

Friday, July 22, 8:00pm

Pianist Jan Lisiecki is a star on the biggest stages in the world. Don’t miss the classical event of the year.

Ramblin’ Rovers

Saturday, July 23, 8:00pm

The Irish/Newfoundland trio will have you stomping along to every tune, and humming on your way out the door.

The White Feather of Woody Point

Wednesday, August 3, 8:00pm
Thursday, August 4, 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 10, 8:00pm
Thursday, August 11, 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 17, 8:00pm
Wednesday. August 24, 8:00pm
Thursday. August 25, 8:00pm

Old Woody Point, its buildings, stories, songs, and characters comes alive as theatre and music combine in this gripping tale of a soldiers painful return from the war.

Yvette Coleman & Deiderik Van Dijk

Friday, July 29, 8:00pm

Yvette and Diederik return with another great show of original music this summer!

Firebird

Friday August 12, 8:00pm
Thursday, August 18, 10:30pm

Stravinsky’s masterpiece ‘The Firebird’ is the centrepiece of a program dedicated to turn of the (last) century Paris, where every artist you’ve ever wanted to meet is hanging out in the same living room.

A New Heaven

Friday, August 19, 10:30pm

The music of Bjork and Korndorff combined with video portraying the stunning landscapes of Western Newfoundland.

Jody Richardson & Friends

Friday, August 26, 8:00pm

One of Newfoundland’s most accomplished musicians, frontman Jody Richardson gathers some friends for and electric night of song.

The Sharecroppers

Saturday, August 27, 8:00pm

The Sharecroppers rootsy acoustic sound, traditional songwriting, and audience rapport have made them a mainstay of Newfoundland’s music scene for decades.

Dave McHugh & Friends

Sunday September 11, 2:00pm

Fortunate Ones

Sunday September 18, 2:00pm

Juno nominated, Canadian Folk Music Award winning indie folk duo Andrew James O’Brien and Catherine Allan.

The Swinging Belles

Sunday, September 25, 2:00pm

Juno Award Winning childrens gypsy jazz!

Find out more about Gros Morne Summer Music and their 2016 season, and buy tickets and season passes at their website, gmsm.ca.